Women Legislators' Lobby

2017 Torchbearer Reception

2017 Torchbearer Reception 
Honoring California Congresswoman Barbara Lee

Monday October 2, 2017
5:30 PM- 8:30 PM

On October 2 we honored inspirational women leaders in the fields of peace, justice, and the advancement of women during WiLL/WAND's 2017 Torchbearer Reception.

Congresswoman Barbara Lee, the leading voice in Congress against endless war and excessive military spending, has a history of unwavering commitment to peace. As the only member of either house of Congress to vote against the authorization of the use of force after the September 1, 2001 attacks, Congresswoman Lee exemplifies the leadership that WiLL and WAND members strive to achieve. We proudly acknowledge the myriad achievements of Congresswoman Lee!

Past award winners include Congresswoman Schakowsky (2015), Congresswoman Donna Edwards (2013), U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (2011), Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis (2009), Marian Wright Edelman (2007), Ambassador Carol Moseley-Braun (2005), Helen Thomas (2003), Eve Ensler (2002), Hon. Janet Reno (2001), and Barbara Lee (1999).

We also honored the 2017 WiLL Pacesetters, ten women state legislators who are leading the way towards peace, and presented the Janice E. Kelley service award. 

Congresswoman Barbara Lee was presented with the 2017 WiLL/WAND Torchbearer Award by her colleague and 2015 WiLL/WAND Torchbearer Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky.

Contact Us

National Office: 202-459-4769 more