Women Legislators' Lobby

Pacesetters 2011

2011 WiLL Pacesetters

Representative Deborah Berry, Iowa

Representative Deborah Berry began her official political career in January 2000 when she was elected to the Waterloo City Council. In 2003 she was elected to the Iowa House of Representatives. Berry has introduced landmark legislation to give all Iowa children access to before- and afterschool programs in their communities. She serves on the State Disproportionate Minority Contact Committee and the Healthy Community Task Force. She is a member of the Iowa Community Education Association, the Iowa Afterschool Alliance, and continues to lobby for afterschool programs and services for disadvantaged and at-risk youth. Representative Berry serves as WiLL's Iowa State Director.

Representative Karen Camper, Tennessee

Representative Camper has a distinguished and varied background, with a consistent focus on faith, community, and public service. She served her country with honor as a Chief Warrant Officer in the United States Army, and continues to maintain her commitment to veterans and members of the armed services through her time as both an officer and member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars. She served as Chair of the Joint Services Black Heritage Committee and Executive Director of the Humble Hearts Foundation. In her tenure in the Tennessee General Assembly, she has been chosen by her colleagues to chair the Women's Legislative Caucus and the Joint Government Operations General Welfare Subcommittee.

Representative Sarah Edwards, Vermont

Sarah Edwards of Brattleboro is a 5-term member of the Vermont House of Representatives and self-employed with In the Balance Consulting and the Lighthouse Reef Conservation Institute in Belize. She has held various municipal positions and has served on a wide variety of non-profit boards. Edwards has played a significant role in crafting Vermont's renewable energy future, but is best known for her work in nuclear energy. She serves on the Nuclear Legislative Workgroup of the National Conference of State Legislatures, the Council of State Governments Energy Committee, the Vermont Nuclear Advisory Panel, the Joint Energy Committee, and as Vermont State Director of the Women Legislators' Lobby (WiLL).

Representative Gloria Frazier, Georgia

In 2006, Representative Frazier was elected to the Georgia General Assembly. She serves on the Energy, Utilities, and Telecommunications Committee; Banks and Banking; and Public Safety and Homeland Security. She is assistant whip of the House Democratic Caucus, and serves as Co-Chair of the Georgia Working Families Legislative Caucus and Treasurer of Georgia Women's Caucus. She co-founded “Divas of Destiny” to mentor high school girls and equip them with skills to pursue college degrees. Widely recognized for her inclusive and productive leadership, she recently passed groundbreaking sickle cell legislation, and is a strong advocate for public education and affordable quality healthcare.

Delegate Ana Sol Gutiérrez, Maryland

Gutiérrez was born in El Salvador and attended Pennsylvania State University, garnering a B.S. in chemistry and an M.S. in technology of management, scientific & technical information systems from American University. She did her postgraduate studies in applied engineering at George Washington University. In 2002, she was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates, representing District 18 in Montgomery County. She currently sits on the Appropriations Committee and has been chair of the Delinquency Prevention and Diversion Services Task Force since 2006. She is the co-chair of the Maryland Democratic Hispanic Caucus.

Delegate Sheila Hixson, Maryland

Sheila E. Hixson was born and grew up in Michigan. After graduating from college, she became a Head Start Teacher in the Detroit School System. She moved to the Washington, DC area in the sixties and began her political career on Capitol Hill. In 1976, she was elected as a Maryland State Delegate. As the chair of the Ways and Means Committee, she is the highest ranked woman delegate in the Assembly. As Chairman of this committee, she works to improve taxation measures, revenue enhancements, education, transportation and election procedures. Her landmark bill to prohibit discrimination based on sexual orientation became law in 2001.

Representative Mary Lou Marzian, Kentucky

Representative Mary Lou Marzian of Louisville, KY was elected to the Kentucky House of Representatives in 1994. She is the vice-chair of the House Budget Review Subcommittee on Human Resources. She serves on several committees including Health & Welfare, Judiciary, and Labor & Industry. She has worked as a registered nurse for over 35 years. She is a member of the Kentucky Nurses Association, the American Civil Liberties Union, and the Older Women's League. Marzian has served as a president of both her state and county chapters of the National Organization for Women, and is a co-chair of the Kentucky Green Schools Caucus.

Representative Jennifer Seelig, Utah

Jennifer Seelig was elected to serve in the Utah House of Representatives in 2006. In 2010, she was elected Minority Whip after serving as Democratic Caucus Manager. Jennifer has been involved in politics and public service for more than a decade at a policy-making and leadership level, working for the Salt Lake City Council and the Salt Lake City mayor. She additionally served as the communication and legislative policy analyst for the Utah League of Cities and Towns, which advocates for issues vital to residential communities across Utah. Jennifer has been Associate Director of Governmental Relations at 1-800 CONTACTS since 2003. Her recent community service includes board service for Project CARE (Community Action to Reach the Elderly) and the Literary Action Center.

Senator Kyrsten Sinema, Arizona

Kyrsten Sinema is in her fourth legislative term, now as a state senator. In 2006, she chaired the first and only successful effort in the country to defeat a ballot initiative banning same-sex marriage. She was a member of President Obama's White House Health Reform Task Force. Kyrsten holds both a law degree and a Master's degree in Social Work from Arizona State University. Kyrsten also serves as faculty for the Center for Progressive Leadership, teaching tomorrow's community leaders about the political process. Kyrsten's first book, Unite and Conquer: How to Build Coalitions that Win and Last, was released in July 2009.

Representative Nancy Todd, Colorado

Representative Nancy Todd was elected to the Colorado House of Representatives in 2004. She is the Chair of the State, Veterans & Military Affairs Committee, and a member of the Education Committee.  In 2010 Todd was presented the Alumni Legislative Award for the University of Colorado Denver, the United Veterans Committee Distinguished Legislator Award, and the Colorado Community College Distinguished Legislator Award, adding to many awards already received throughout her legislative career. Todd's leadership is evidenced by her selection as a 2009Toll Fellow by the Council of State Governments. Representative Todd was a professional educator for twenty-five years, and is a WiLL State Director for Colorado.


Contact Us

National Office: 202-459-4769 more